Folding@Home is a distributed computing project run by Stanford University in America and they are turning their attention to research on Covid-19.

I have been Folding for many years and we once had a Team called Swannys Irregulars (the missing possessive apostrophe is, alas, deliberate as Stanford's system doesn't accept apostrophes in Team names!) made up of Sale supporters who joined the project. Teams are unnecessary but do add a little bit of competition. The Team still exists, but with only me currently active! :sad:

In simple terms, you join the project, download a piece of software which, when installed, calls for a "Work Unit" to be downloaded. It then processes that unit (don't ask me how, it's well above my pay grade), returns it and downloads another unit ... and so on until you quit. All this happens in the background although you can "see" your unit's progress through the front end application.

It costs you nothing except for the small amount of electricity involved in keeping your machine running 24/7 and it doesn't affect the processing power of your device as the software is written to cease or reduce processing whenever you need it for something else.

The Stanford University site which goes into detail and from where you can download your application is here ...

https://foldingathome.org

... and Folding's statement on Covid-19 ...

https://foldingathome.org/2020/03/10/covid19-update/.

The software can be run on many different computer systems and gaming machines.

Message me if you want further information.

And if you want to join Swannys Irregulars, enter the Team number 37761 when setting up your system. Please consider Folding@Home, it is an excellent project which I joined originally when Her Ladyship was diagnosed with MS.
Don’t forget to re/join Swanny’s Irregulars, team 37761.

I seem to be the only Sale Unoffy member of SI 37761 still Folding, somewhat depressing even before Covid-19 as it is such an excellent project.